Project

arrow_left_big_2
arrow_right_big
  • Leather

    A sustainable and traceable leather value chain

  • I

    Raw material from agriculture

    Mutterkuh Schweiz + Bio Suisse

    I

    Raw material from agriculture

    Mutterkuh Schweiz + Bio Suisse

    Sustainability and ethics begins with the animal husbandry. The raw material for the leather bags and accessories originates from cattle from the farms of Swiss suckler cows husbandry with Bio Suisse certification. The Association Mutterkuh Schweiz is committed to a natural husbandry of farm animals. The suckler cow husbandry lets the calves live with their mothers on the pasture. These farms are usually smaller and contain 6–8 cows on average.

    Bio Suisse is a strong, credible and globally recognized brand for organic agriculture, which is committed to the balance between nature, humans and animals. Both organisations stand for responsible, ecological and animal-friendly agriculture. In combination they form the most convincing and qualified seal for fins raw material.

    For every fin leather product sold, a certain revenue will be paid to the Association Mutterkuh Schweiz who will use this money on the farmers.

  • II

    Collection and sorting

    Centravo Group

    II

    Collection and sorting

    Centravo Group

    The Centravo Group is an organisation of the Swiss meat industry. The Group is an expert of collecting and assorting cattle skins as well as their sale and dispatch to the tanneries.

    In close cooperation with the Centravo Group and Bell Group, the skins for fin are separated and transported to the region of Pisa, Italy. In Switzerland to the border of Italy the transport runs mostly on rails and then by truck to Santa Croce sull’Arno.

  • III

    Vegetable-Tanning in Tuscany

    Tannery in Santa Croce

    III

    Vegetable-Tanning in Tuscany

    Tannery in Santa Croce

    In Switzerland, there are no tanneries designed to carry out the processing of larger batches from the raw skin to the finished leather. Thus, fin trusts and relies on the tradition of vegetable tanneries in Tuscany, Italy.

    The raw material is vegetable-tanned in Santa Croce sull’Arno. This type of tanning is free of harmful substances, i.e. renouncing the use of any chemicals, colouring and coatings within leather for fin. Only natural ingredients such as Mimosa and Quebracho bark are used. Hence, the leather is 100% natural.

    Vegetable-tanning is one of the oldest tanning methods existing for more than 5000 years. Today, however, only about 10% of the leather industry worldwide uses this method. The tannery with which fin cooperates has been specialized in vegetable and traditional pit tanning since the 70s. The craftsmanship has always evolved and adapted to modern production conditions.

  • IV

    Processing End product

    Pelletteria in Florence

    IV

    Processing End product

    Pelletteria in Florence

    The tanned leather is further processed to fin leather bags and accessories at a small family business in Florence. The company has been active in the leather industry since the 50s and stands for a careful and high-quality production. The tailor has a fine eye for detail and a sensitive touch bringing the leather and design together.

    ADDITIONAL MATERIALS FOR THE MANUFACTURE OF LEATHER PRODUCTS
    The leather products are sewn with threads that are made from recycled PET. The metal parts (push buttons and rivets) are nickel free and produced in Italy.

    PACKAGING
    The cloth bag, packaging for the fin leather products, is made in the region of Florence. The fabric of the packaging is made of organic cotton.

    Shop

Project

arrow_left_big_2
arrow_right_big
  • Leder

    Eine nachhaltige und rückverfolgbare Leder–Wertschöpfungskette

  • I

    Das Rohmaterial aus der Landwirtschaft

    Mutterkuh Schweiz + Bio Suisse

    I

    Das Rohmaterial aus der Landwirtschaft

    Mutterkuh Schweiz + Bio Suisse

    Nachhaltigkeit und Ethik fangen bei der Tierhaltung an. Das Rohmaterial für die Ledertaschen und Accessoires von fin stammt von Rindern aus Schweizer Mutterkuh-Betrieben mit Bio Suisse Zertifizierung. Der Verein Mutterkuh Schweiz setzt sich für eine natürliche Haltung von Nutztieren ein. Bei der Mutterkuh-Haltung leben die Rinder mit den Muttertieren auf der Weide. Diese Betriebe gehören mit durchschnittlich 6–8 Rindern zu den kleineren.

    Bio Suisse ist eine starke, glaubwürdige und weltweit bekannte Marke für biologische Landwirtschaft, welche sich für das Gleichgewicht zwischen Natur, Mensch und Tier einsetzt. Beide Organisationen stehen für eine verantwortungsvolle, ökologische und tiergerechte Landwirtschaft. In der Kombination bilden sie für fin das überzeugendste Gütesiegel für das Rohmaterial.

    Beim Verkauf von jedem fin Lederprodukt geht ein Teil des Erlöses an den Verein Mutterkuh Schweiz, welcher dieses Geld für die Landwirte einsetzt.

  • II

    Sammlung und Sortierung

    Centravo-Gruppe

    II

    Sammlung und Sortierung

    Centravo-Gruppe

    Die Centravo-Gruppe ist eine Organisation der Schweizer Fleischwirtschaft. Sie ist unter anderem auch Expertin für das Sammeln und Aussortieren von Rinderhäuten sowie den Verkauf und Versand ebendieser an die Gerbereien.

    In enger Kooperation mit der Centravo–Gruppe und Bell-Gruppe werden die Häute für fin separiert und nach Santa Croce sull’Arno, Region von Pisa, transportiert. In der Schweiz verläuft der Transport mehrheitlich auf Schienen und ab Italien per Lastwagen.

  • III

    Pflanzliche Gerbung in der Toskana

    Gerberei in Santa Croce

    III

    Pflanzliche Gerbung in der Toskana

    Gerberei in Santa Croce

    In der Schweiz gibt es keine Gerbereien mehr, die auf die Verarbeitung von grösseren Stückzahlen ausgerichtet sind und den Gerbeprozess von der Rohhaut bis zum fertigen Leder durchführen. Somit setzt fin auf die Tradition und das Herz der vegetabilen Gerbung: Die Toskana.

    Das Rohmaterial wird in Santa Croce sull’Arno pflanzlich gegerbt. Diese Art der Gerbung ist schadstoffrei, das heisst auf den Einsatz von jeglichen Chemikalien, Farben und Beschichtungen wird beim Leder für fin verzichtet. Eingesetzt werden nur natürliche Ingredienzen wie Mimosa und Quebracho-Rinde. Das Leder ist so zu 100% naturbelassen.

    Die pflanzliche Gerbung ist eine der ältesten Gerbemethoden, die bereits seit 5000 Jahren existiert. Heute macht sie jedoch weltweit nur noch ca. 10% der Lederindustrie aus.  Die Gerberei, mit welcher fin zusammenarbeitet, ist seit den 70er Jahren auf die pflanzliche und traditionelle Grubengerbung spezialisiert. Das Handwerk wurde dabei stets weiterentwickelt und auf moderne Produktionsbedingungen angepasst.

  • IV

    Weiterverarbeitung zum Endprodukt

    Pelletteria in Florenz

    IV

    Weiterverarbeitung zum Endprodukt

    Pelletteria in Florenz

    Das gegerbte Leder wird anschliessend in Florenz in einem kleinen Familienunternehmen zu fin Ledertaschen und Accessoires weiterverarbeitet. Das Unternehmen ist seit den 50er Jahren in der Lederindustrie tätig und steht für eine sorgfältige und qualitativ hochwertige Produktion ein. Der Schnittmacher verfügt über ein klares Auge und hat ein feines Gespür, um Leder und Design
    zusammenzubringen.

    ZUSATZMATERIALIEN FÜR DIE HERSTELLUNG DER LEDERPRODUKTE
    Die Fäden, mit welchen die Leder-produkte genäht werden, sind aus recyceltem PET hergestellt. Die Metallteile (Druckknöpfe und Nieten) wurden in Italien produziert und sind blei- und nickelfrei.

    VERPACKUNG
    Die Stofftaschen, Verpackung der fin Lederprodukte, werden in der Region von Florenz hergestellt. Der Stoff ist aus Bio-Baumwolle.

    Zum Shop